Encoding a triadic synapse model

Hi, I am still a beginner for Brian, and I am wondering if it is possible to encode a synapse model containing a triadic synapse structure.
More specifically, with two input neurons targeting the same single synapse in the downstream neuron, and affecting the downstream synapse temporally.
Thank you!

Hi @BetaFish. Could you give a bit more detail of what such a model would look like or e.g. link to a paper that uses such a model?
Brian’s synapse mechanism is very flexible, so there’s a big chance that what you want to do is possible. See for example our paper on neuron-glia interactions, which demonstrates how to use advanced techniques like synapses targeting other synapses: https://www.biorxiv.org/content/10.1101/198366v1 The code from this paper is here: Examples — Brian 2 2.5.1 documentation

@mstimberg Thanks for your reply and the paper! I will read the paper to find some inspiration!

Here are more details about what I am trying to do:

Having input1 and 2 as the input neuron connecting to the interneuron, the first part of my model will be the two input neurons affecting a single synapse of the interneuron, which constructs a triadic synapse. In this case, when a new input comes in (the second part in the figure) to other synapses in the interneuron, it will be easier for the target interneuron to fire and pass the signal to the downstream output neuron. Each synapse in the two input neurons should connect to a specific synapse in the interneuron.
My main problem is that not knowing how to target a single synapse specifically in a multi-synapse neuron.
I’ve tried to set the synapse equation for each synapse independently like:

syneqs='''
ds_ach/dt = -s_ach/tau_ach : 1 (clock-driven)
Isyn1_post = -s_ach*(v-E_ach)*a1:1 (summed)
Isyn2_post= -s_ach*(v-E_ach)*a2:1 (summed)
Isyn3_post= -s_ach*(v-E_ach)*a3:1 (summed)
w: 1
'''