Injecting current spike in LIF neurons

Hi everyone!

I’m fairly new to Brian so I hope I’m posting this correctly. Please let me know if that’s not the case!

I’m simulating a basic network N of n neurons that are not connected to each other. The neurons are LIF and are set to fire using a bias current i_offset . I’m trying to simulate events that cause a sudden spike in the bias current to a random neuron in the network. To do so I’ve tried making a network operation that takes the i_offset of a certain neuron and adds a spike to it using a function of t:

@network_operation(dt=500 * ms)
  def event():
        neuron = np.random.randint(low=0, high=n, dtype=int)
        i_offset_neuron = N.i_offset[neuron]
        base_i_offset = i_offset_neuron
        new_i_offset = 'base_i_offset + (10 / (1 + 1000 * t / second)) * nA'
        N.i_offset[neuron] = new_i_offset

The code does run but I don’t see any change in spiking behavior of the neuron (in either spike or statemonitor). Can anyone point out why this isn’t working as intended?
The goal would be to have a spike added to the existing i_offset. Also, I want to be able to quickly change the width and height of the spike (therefore I’m not using dirac delta functions).

Best,

Joris

Hi @JFRWKievits and welcome to the Brian forum :wave: . Could you please also post the definition of your NeuronGroup to see how i_offset is applied? Thanks!

Hi @mstimberg !

Of course!
Here are the equations and Network setup. The gaussian function just provides a list of len(N) with normally distributed values around some ideal parameter value.

eqs = """
    R : ohm
    i_offset : amp
    tau : second
    Vr : volt
    Vt : volt
    dv/dt = (R*i_offset-v)/tau : volt (unless refractory)
    """

# The neurons with threshold voltage, reset voltage and refractoriness
    N = NeuronGroup(n, eqs, threshold='v > Vt', reset='v = Vr', refractory=t_ref, method='euler', name='neurons')
    N.Vr = gaussian(Vr_ideal, Vr_ideal * f, len(N))