KeyError: 'The identifier "a" could not be resolved.' - Izhikevich Model

Description of problem

I am hoping to build a small-worlds network of Izhikevich neurons. I already have a function that defines a connectivity matrix and I have a separate function that creates the network. However, I am running into a problem and I am unsure how to debug this. Apologies if this is blatantly obvious, I am very new to Brian2

Minimal code to reproduce problem

# create a network of izhikevich  neurons in brian2
def create_network(connectivity_matrix):
    start_scope()

N = len(connectivity_matrix)

# params
    a = 0.02
    b = 0.2
    c = -65
    d = 8

izhikevich_eqs = '''
    dv/dt = (0.04 * v**2 + 5 * v + 140 - u + I)/ms : 1 (unless refractory)
    du/dt = a * (b * v - u)/ms : 1
    I_syn : 1
    '''

# define neuron group
    G = NeuronGroup(N, model=izhikevich_eqs, threshold='v >= 30', reset='v = c; u = u + d', refractory=2*ms)

# set initial conditions
    G.v = -65
    G.u = b * G.v

# define synaptic connections
    S = Synapses(G, G, 'w : 1', on_pre='I_syn_post += w')
    S.connect(i=np.where(connectivity_matrix)[0],
              j=np.where(connectivity_matrix)[1])

S.w = 'rand() * 2 - 1'

return G, S

def run_simulation(G, S, duration=100*ms):
    # Start a new scope for the simulation
    start_scope()

state_monitor = StateMonitor(G, 'v', record=True)

# Include the StateMonitor in the network
    net = Network(G, S, state_monitor)

net.run(duration)

for i in range(len(G)):
        plt.plot(state_monitor.t, state_monitor.v[i], label=f'Neuron {i}')

plt.xlabel('Time (ms)')
    plt.ylabel('Membrane Potential')
    plt.legend()
    plt.show()

What you have aready tried

I have tried defining the parameter values (a,b,c,d) in the variable izhikevich_eqs, such that:
izhikevich_eqs = ‘’’
dv/dt = (0.04 * v**2 + 5 * v + 140 - u + I)/ms : 1 (unless refractory)
du/dt = a * (b * v - u)/ms : 1
I_syn : 1
a = 0.02
b = 0.2
c = -65
d = 8
‘’’

Expected output (if relevant)