Changing a variable while looping for a multicompartment model

Description of problem

Hello, I’m new to Brian2 but hope to use it to simulate simple multicompartment neuron models. To get started, I’m working with a somatic compartment where I want to parametrically explore the impact of changing the diameter of the somatic compartment. I’m starting by using a simple loop to change the diameter iteratively. Although the loop appears to be running, the diameter of the spatial neuron does not change during the simulation. I’ve looked at the documentation and the youtube videos on setting up simulations, and optimizing by vectorization when using NeuronGroup but haven’t really been able to solve this. I’m guessing/hoping that this is a fairly simple error and that someone out there with more experience with this simulation environment can help me here.

Minimal code to reproduce problem

defaultclock.dt = 0.025*ms
start_scope()

#Equations for channel definitions removed to make a more concise posting

eqs += eqs_leak + eqs_na + eqs_kht + eqs_klt #add other channels when ready

# Spatial Neuron
diameters = [30,50] 
morpho = Soma(diameter=5*1*um)  #initial definition with very small diameter...to quickly note if the #redefinition during the looping is working.
neuron = SpatialNeuron(morphology=morpho, model=eqs,Cm=1*uF/cm**2, Ri=70*ohm*cm, threshold='v > -40*mV', method='exponential_euler')                      
neuron[0].gl = 0.03e-3*siemens/cm**2 
neuron[0].gnabar = 20e-3*siemens/cm**2
neuron[0].gkhtbar = 2.8e-3*siemens/cm**2
neuron[0].gkltbar = 0*siemens/cm**2
mon_s = StateMonitor(neuron.main, ['v', 'I', 'Im'], record=True)
mon_spike = SpikeMonitor(neuron.main)

store() #this will save the above definition?
for diam in diameters: #start loop to change diameter in the SpatialNeuron object
  restore()
  morpho = Soma(diameter=diam*1*um)
  neuron.morphology=morpho #I thought this would update the diameter.
  print(neuron.morphology)