Problem changing spike values in SpikeGeneratorGroup during simulation

Hi Brian Team,

I’m totally new to Brian2 and was wondering how to correctly change an input stimuli using the SpikeGeneratorGroup while iterating over a dataset (h5 dataset in my case) during a simulation. So, I start with a 10 neurons SpikeGeneratorGroup that is not firing anything.

My goal is to iterate through an h5 dataset and run my network for let’s say 1 second while changing the spikes from the first neuron by the current spike train and the other 9 by poisson spike trains. I have a function called make_input_spikes that merges a spike train from the dataset to an array of 9 other spike trains created by a poisson process and returns the indices and the spike times that I then give to set_spikes to redefine the spike trains within the generator at each iteration like so :

for data, target in dataset:
    current_times, current_indices = make_input_spikes(...)
    input_neurons.set_spikes(current_indices, current_times)
    net.run(300 * ms, report = 'text')

Each spike train in the dataset has a length of 300 with a 1*ms timestep. Of course the spikes after the first iteration are ignored cause they lie before the current simulation time.

WARNING    The SpikeGeneratorGroup contains spike times earlier than the start time of the current run (t = 1. second), these spikes will be ignored. [brian2.input.spikegeneratorgroup.ignored_spikes]

So I’m a bit confused about how I can just continuously feed new known spike trains to the Network.
Or maybe I’m just totally wrong in the way I use the simulator :blush:

Thank you for your support.

Brad.

Actually found a solution to this using a bit of documentation, sorry :blush:
So for my experiments I first need to reset some spike trains during the simulation regularly, I tried different things that seem to work, the first one is a network operation that reset my spikes without the knowledge of the data I have :