Problem with Cython

Description of problem

Hello, I am a beginner with Brian and Python and am trying to install brian2, but it seems to be a problem with cython and I cannot find the reason. I am using python 3.8 in macOS BigSur. I have created a new environment only for Brian and I am following the instructions for installation in the Brian website. After the installations, when I run the test, I get a bunch of failures for cython. Brian works, because I can run the code that I am currently working with, but it is slower than what it should because cython is not working. I have tried installing different versions of python and cython, but it did not help. I hope you can help me with this. Please, see below the warnings/errors that I get when I run my code (Thank you!):

(brian2_3) sibanez@x86_64-apple-darwin13 Desktop % python code.py

WARNING Cannot use Cython, a test compilation failed: command ā€˜/Users/saraibanez/opt/anaconda3/envs/brian2_3/bin/x86_64-apple-darwin13.4.0-clang++ā€™ failed with exit code 1 (LinkError) [brian2.codegen.runtime.cython_rt.cython_rt.failed_compile_test]

INFO Cannot use compiled code, falling back to the numpy code generation target. Note that this will likely be slower than using compiled code. Set the code generation to numpy manually to avoid this message:

prefs.codegen.target = ā€œnumpyā€ [brian2.devices.device.codegen_fallback]

Starting simulation at t=0. s for a duration of 10. s

1.9152 s (19%) simulated in 10s, estimated 42s remaining.

3.5343 s (35%) simulated in 20s, estimated 37s remaining.

5.211 s (52%) simulated in 30s, estimated 28s remaining.

6.83 s (68%) simulated in 40s, estimated 19s remaining.

8.4945 s (84%) simulated in 50s, estimated 9s remaining.

1. s (100%) simulated in 58s

Minimal code to reproduce problem

What you have aready tried

Expected output (if relevant)

Actual output (if relevant)

Full traceback of error (if relevant)

Minimal code to reproduce problem

What you have aready tried