Google Summer of Code 2021

Hi everyone,

I would like to greet everyone and introduce myself as this year’s GSoC student :slight_smile:
My name is Ante and I am currently a graduate student in computational bioelectromagnetics at the University of Split.
Even though my formal training is in electronic engineering at Uni of Split, and I did my masters at the department of electronic systems at Aalborg University, I decided to take a slightly different route after discovering that I was extremely interested in bioelectromagnetism and bioinformatics in general.

The theme of my project at GSoC is the integration of the model fitting toolbox with the sbi package to enable simulation-based inference on brian2's models.
Summary of the project is available here, and my progress will be available in the Projects section of brian2modelfitting.

I am looking forward for this summer of code and for being able to participate in such a wonderful open source community :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Hi @antelk,

Welcome to the forum!

I’m really looking forward to your results!

Last winter, I attempted to move from my standard tools for parameter fitting (various genetic algorithms) to SPI. It looked convenient to have a generative model after fitting instead of just a set of parameters that fit a neuron dynamics. The sbi worked pretty well for a small number of parameters (4-5), but it stuck in the real-world 24-parameter model. I documented this in the bug report here. I wonder whether it is a problem of the specific model or a general disadvantage of the inference-based fitting.

So, good luck with your GSoC. I think this community will appreciate if your report here results from any sbi benchmarks and tests.

1 Like

Hi @rth,

Thank you for the warm welcome, I really appreciate it :slight_smile:

In the issue you opened, you mentioned that the total size of the summary statistics vector is 242.